top of page

Third Week and still going!



In our third week of the Certified Voice Artist Program, one of the things we discussed is acting out the scene, adding emotion to the voice acting – this was my biggest takeaway in the session, because it adds a great deal in the voice overs. Sure, we’d normally read a script when doing voice overs or character voice overs, but that is not enough to convey a message or feeling, so as voice artists, we also need to add emotion to the line/script. If you read the script flat-out, it would be similar to plainly reading a letter to the wall.


Even with AVPs or ads, if you don’t have the right tone, the AVP or ad will be bland or confusing. Looking back at my assignments a week ago, I feel like I lacked emotion when reading the AVPs, focusing more on just reading them. It may be because I was nervous, or just that I thought reading them was enough. Now that we’ve gone through the topic, I know I need to work more on those skills, making sure I don’t sound like a robot or an AI reading a script.


In this week's assignment, we'll need to think of that movie scene that made us tear up, and we'll need to act that scene with the same emotion. Another assignment will be the re-enactment of the activity we had on Saturday, but with a script instead of saying the words "Mahal Kita" (I love you). I'm looking forward to how this will turn out, and for the next session on Saturday!

bottom of page